Knowing Follows, Never Leads

I know not life without guilt

Cast it aside a thousand times

My essence and form tinted

With hues of blame and shame.

………..

I profess to want free of these, yet

Have not known the brute force

To bring about such transformation

To destroy that which forged me.

………..

Now, new forces show themselves

Calling me to witness my disintegration

To stand barefoot in the flames

To fall and not reach out.

………..

Approaching the precipice, I see

For the first time the thickness

And the weight of the veils,

I bear witness to my own blindness.

………..

Knowing always follows, never leads

My past bears witness to this truth

It will again be so, as I un-prepare

To receive my Creator.

2 responses to “Knowing Follows, Never Leads

Leave a Reply

