Swollen

My heart hurts, there have been betrayals.

My kidneys cleanse what I have seen.

My hair haunted with the grey of in-between.

My appendix aches for rest from poisons.

My skin stretches from the burden of wrongs.

My ears echo with cries of the young

My lungs leaden from the weight of air.

My eyes bleed from visions of pain.

All this, yet my mind has swollen

With the knowledge of a larger love

My lips have given way to a smile

All my losses assemble as gifts

I am grateful for them all.

One response to “Swollen

Leave a Reply

